The Power of the Spiral

Once in a while, as a writer, I come across a concept that makes me hate the field I’ve entered. Not because it’s offensively ridiculous. Quite the contrary; these are pieces that I aspire to produce, words and images that I would give an obsolete body part just to have the courage to conjure. Junji Ito’s Uzumaki is one of those works of art. The story, set in the fictional village of Kurôzo-Cho, is as twisted as its namesake suggests. A mind as fantastical as Ito-san’s deserves the kind of film adaptation worthy of a mad scientist. However, the task is enough to drive any director and screenwriter through a wall conceptually.

I originally wrote this for Film Arcade. So, go peep it if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

