The Tragedy of OldBoy

Be it a grain of sand or rock, in water they sink as the same.

It’s a rare moment, indeed, when a writer stumbles across something that completely defies expectation. A film which I’d expected to be something of a Korean gore-fest turned out to be truly one of the most heartbreaking films that I’ve seen in the past five or six years. It’s an honour to have the opportunity to write a review for the film Oldboy, a gem of a film that actually had me grabbing at my eyes, not for the fear of gratuitous gore, but because I was attempting to keep the brimming tears from falling from them.

Originally had this posted on Hayes Hudson’s House of Horror if you’re interested in reading the rest. Really cool cat. Really cool blog. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “The Tragedy of OldBoy

  1. niknkim

    It’s been at least six years since I last saw this film, but I can still remember the amazing cinematography. I agree, the last showdown between Dae-su and Woo-jin was the most beautiful (and yet the most haunting) part of the film, as well as the following elevator scene after Woo-jin’s flashbacks. Though I’m not a big fan of Park Chan-wook, some scenes are just imprinted in my soul, and I guess that’s why Old Boy is an amazing movie.

    Reply
    1. Yvning Post author

      I agree with you there. That entire last 25 minutes or so of film is probably some of the most powerful ever imprinted on celluloid. I need more films like this, you know, to just remember that I’m human 🙂

      Thanks so much for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

