Divine Ladies – Lonette McKee

In the wake of the remake of one of my favourite films, Sparkle, I found it only proper to restart my list of the divine ladies of film by paying homage to one of the most talented, ferocious, and truly one of the most beautiful actresses I’ve ever seen.

Lonette McKee is a woman who’s always demanded respect. From her days as a musical artist to her work as an uncompromising actress, she’s managed to make the entertainment industry take notice of her fiery presence. Born July 25, 1954, McKee got her start as something of a musical prodigy in her hometown of Detroit. She began her career as a singer and composer, writing music and lyrics for some highly recognized documentaries and films, including a documentary about Manhattan African Burial Ground, as well as the theme song for film Quadroon — not to mention writing and producing five studio albums.

Though I didn’t know anything of her prestigious music endeavours, I’ve been an avid fan of hers since I was about 13. It was at that age that my father introduced me to a film that would further propel my love of music and history.

Leave a Reply

