Paula Abdul – Opposites Attract

What can I say? I’m a sucker for mixed media. I suppose it helps this video came out when I was still carrying a single digit in my age. I mean, it’s a cartoon and a girl who, at the time, was the greatest dancer I’d ever seen.

Indeed, Paula Abdul will always be one of the most gifted dancers and choreographers I’ve ever seen, and this video cemented her status in my mind. Not only do you have an incredibly clever concept (a fast-talking cat playing up to Paula’s mouse, the couple literally from two different dimensions), you’ve got a wide array of technical skill at hand. If Ms. Abdul’s skill was still under question after her debut single “Straight Up [1]”, surely “Opposites Attract” swiped aside any naysayers or those critical of her actual technique.

For my part, it’s truly one of the most outrageously fun videos I’ve ever seen, with a groove that will forever get stuck in my bones and bring me back to a simpler time when all I wanted to do was dance. The creative force behind the MV (Candace Reckinger and Michael Patterson) pushed Paula and her feline honey MC Scat Kat to a higher plane of visual mastery. Literally, reminiscing about this video brought a huge smile to my face that didn’t fade until about three hours later.

Leave a Reply

