Chris Cornell – Nissan Live Sets (2007)

If I were to try to sum up the power of this live performance, I’m pretty sure I’d be doing the man an injustice. I was working in some sort of data entry temporary job in which we were allowed to pretty much do whatever the hell we wanted so long as we got the job done. That meant eight straight hours listening (yes, listening) to YouTube. In that eight hours, I one day stumbled upon this acoustic rendition of one of the most powerful songs to come out of the 90s. Granted, I can never, EVER watch the video again (I was pretty much scarred for life the first time I saw it. I think I was all of eight years old). However, I’ve always loved “Black Hole Sun” for its harmonics and its composition. When, of course, you become older and manage to figure out the power behind the lyrics, everything about it takes on a whole new perspective.

That being said, there’s nothing that even comes close to the flawlessness of Chris Cornell sitting on a stool, guitar in hand, and giving whoever listens a chance to reach out and touch the finger of euphoria. That’s exactly what happened to me that day, and it continues to happen every single time I listen to this performance.

Leave a Reply

